| Facts.com | ENTER | MORE INFO |
| Maps101.com | ENTER | MORE INFO |
| NCLIVE! (Includes several new online resources) |
ENTER | MORE INFO |
| NetLibrary | ENTER | MORE INFO |
| SIRS Discoverer | ENTER | MORE INFO |
| SIRS Researcher | ENTER | MORE INFO |
| SIRS Government Reporter | ENTER | MORE INFO |
| SIRS WebSelect | ENTER | MORE INFO |
| SIRS Renaissance | ENTER | MORE INFO |
The State Library of North Carolina provides access to Online Databases through NCLIVE.
NCLIVE provides full-text magazine articles, as well as a wealth of other resources including:
- Consumer Health
- Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia
- The New Book of Knowledge
- Hoover's Company Profiles
- North Carolina Resources
- Sciences Resources
The Neuse Regional Library System has purchased several online databases that are available for use on the Internet in the Library as well as on your home Internet computer.
FACTS.COM
FACTS.com consists of two separate databases.
Issues and Controversies - Reference Books Bulletin called Issues and Controversies "accessible" and "much more current than the competition." With in-depth coverage of more than 300 "hot topics," Issues and Controversies @ FACTS.com also delivers:
- ALL-NEW activities to teach students how to evaluate news information and encourage them to think about their own opinions:
- Full-text searching
- Newspaper editorials
- Hyperlinks to biographies, news updates, and relevant Web sites
- Bibliographies, chronologies, maps, graphs, tables, and photos
- Directory of organizations to contact for further information
- "By The Numbers" statistical snapshot of key issues
- Carefully researched essays are written to give students a thorough review of all sides of a topical issue or controversy in today's news.
- Each essay includes a complete bibliography, contact information, and extensive links to related articles found throughout FACTS.com databases.
- Today's Science - No news source today does a better job reporting scientific developments to students than Today's Science, the science publication written expressly for students. Today's Science articles never talk down to students. The pieces are long enough to explore each topic thoroughly but short enough to hold readers' interest.
- Full-text searching, comprehensive index and integrated glossary
- "Hot Topic" coverage with instant access
- Live links to related FACTS.com content plus external science sites
- Expanded teacher content
- Coverage correlated to National Science Education Standards
- Background information from the World Almanac Encyclopedia
- Biographies of prominent scientists past and present
- All-new curriculum activities that target multiple grade levels.
- Richly illustrated; students receive a balanced, thorough understanding of the latest developments in the world of science.
MAPS101.COM
These databases are available to ALL patrons in the
Neuse Regional Library System!
MAPS101.com is an ideal and immediate solution for integrating web technology into the classroom. MAPS101 provides users with a collection of over 4,000 online resources and maps, which are optimized for printing and immediate use.
NETLIBRARY
NetLibrary allows you to create your own ebook account and gain access to the Neuse Regional Library's ebook collection, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. eBooks are an exciting new resource that provides reliable content. Access over 10,000 books, including Cliff Notes, the classics and nonfiction books from any Internet computer.
The first time you use this database you need to set up your own account. This has to be done from a Library computer. After you have an account then you can access this database of ebooks from any Internet computer.
SIRS Databases
SIRS Discoverer on the Web, an informative database of full-text articles, helps develop research, writing, language and computer skills while making learning fun and intuitive for the young researcher. Children can do research, read stories, learn about important people, places and events, find fun projects to do, and much, much more.
SIRS Government Reporter is a valuable source for current and historic government documents, landmark and recent US Supreme Court decisions, information about federal departments, agencies, elected leaders and more. US Government Documents - the main database - delivers thousands of carefully selected, full-text documents and graphics from agencies, departments and commissions of the US Government. Information can be found in the main full-text database and these additional content databases:
- US Supreme Court Decisions
- National Archives Documents
- Historic Documents
- Congressional Member Directory
- Federal Agency Directory
- US Justice Directory
- US Presidents Directory
SIRS WebSelect offers quality Internet sites from reliable sources. Users can review articles from SIRS award-winning databases and Internet sites from SIRS WebSelect in a single research environment.
SIRS Renaissance - Current Perspectives on the Arts and Humanities provides current, dynamic information from more than 700 domestic and international sources. The articles provide diverse information on the following topics:
- Architecture and Design
- Culture
- Film, Radio, Television, and Video
- Literature
- Music
- Performing Arts
- Philosophy & Religion
- Visual Arts
SIRS Researcher provided thousands of full-text articles on a variety of social, scientific, health, historic, economic, business, political and global issues. Articles are selected from about 1,500 newspapers, magazines, journals and government publications. Information can be found in the main full-text database, and these additional content databases:
Today's News - The top national and global headline news stories are dynamically updated and delivered hourly to bring you the breaking news of the day without leaving the security of SIRS.
Maps of the World - Nearly 300 detailed, colorful maps are available as an online reference almanac. The maps include each of the 50 United States and the provinces and territories of Canada, as well as regions and nations of the world including Europe, Persian Gulf, Czech Republic, the Baltics, and time zones of the world.
World Almanac Excerpts - The World Almanac Excerpts database contains information from the World Almanac and Book of Facts. Use this database to view articles about world history, profiles of all the nations of the world, important facts describing major international organizations and each of the 50 states of the union as well as the District of Columbia and outlying U.S. areas.
Spotlight of the Month - Spotlight of the Month articles have been selected as a sampling from the SIRS Researcher database to encourage research and awareness of the the topical issues. These articles can be found by searching the full-text database at any time and will remain in the Spotlight of the Month Archive for the remainder of the year.


