NRL Blog

As a nation, we are enduring a unique and trying time. The Neuse Regional Library community is no different, and the Youth Services Team is missing our youngest patrons and their families. Even though we cannot see their smiling faces, we hope it will help them have a sense of normalcy if they can see ours.

The Youth Services staff has taken our storytimes and craft programs online while the public cannot visit our libraries in person. We invite our storytime friends to join us for Facebook Live Story-times via the Neuse Regional Library Facebook page. If you have not already liked the Neuse Regional Library Facebook page, please do so. Once you have, you can sign up to receive reminders when the Library goes live.

Storytimes go live at 10:00 a.m. Monday through Friday, and the recording of each storytime is left up for one hour, then removed out of respect for copyright laws and intellectual property rights. Miss Christine leads the 10:00 a.m. session Monday through Thursday. Miss Jennifer is our special guest on Fridays at 10:00 a.m., and she shares a bilingual story in English and Spanish.

Stay tuned after Miss Christine and Miss Jennifer end their storytimes; another Facebook Live session will follow at 11:00 a.m. demonstrating a simple craft or activity to go along with the story and can be completed with items you have at home. A new addition to our Facebook Live storytime line-up is bedtime storytime with Miss Amber. The bedtime stories go live at 8:00 p.m. on Monday, Wednesday, and Saturday nights, and the recording stays up for one hour.

We have not forgotten our teens. Tune in to see Miss Chanda, our Teen Librarian, discuss Young Adult books via the Virtual Teen Book Club. The first meeting will be Wednesday, April 22 at 2:00 p.m., and Miss Chanda will be leading a discussion about Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs. There will be a Zoom link posted to the Neuse Regional Library Facebook page and Instagram (follow us @neuselibrary) for participants to join in the conversation.

In addition to the Library’s Facebook Live activities, many popular authors and illustrators are sharing their creative processes online. Author and illustrator Mo Willems has produced the web series Lunch Doodles in partnership with the Kennedy Center. Best known for his characters Pigeon, Elephant and Piggie, Knuffle Bunny, and Cat, just to name a few, Willems has created 15 episodes and made them freely available online. All videos can be found on the Kennedy Center’s website (https:// www.kennedy-center.org/education/mo-willems) as well as YouTube.

Fans of Captain Underpants and Dogman can learn how to draw The Bark Knight and Cat Kid following videos and illustrations by creator Dav Pilkey. You can catch everything he is up to while he is at home at his website (https://kids.scholastic.com/kids/books/dav-pilkey-at-home/).

Speaking of popular children’s authors, NC Kids Digital Library (https://nckids.overdrive.com/) provides access to 29,248 children’s and young adult titles.

Patrons can use their library card or Student ID Number to check out e-books, e-audio, and videos from the comfort of their home.

For those who prefer physical materials over electronic materials, the Neuse Regional Libraries continue to offer curbside checkout service. Patrons are asked to place items on hold using the Library’s website (https://www.neuselibrary.org) or via phone at 252-527-7066, ext. 134 and the reference staff will assist you. There is a 10 item limit, and that includes 3 DVDs at no charge. When your items are ready for pick up, the circulation staff will call you to let you know. Curbside service is available Monday through Thursday from 10:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. at the Kinston-Lenoir County, Greene County, La Grange, Pink Hill, Pollocsville, and Trenton Public Libraries. The Comfort Public Library offers curbside service Tuesday and Thursday from 10:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.

For more information or to request materials and craft handouts, please contact the Youth Services Department at 252-527-7066, ext. 133 or via email at ahargett@neuselibrary.org .